top of page

FRIDAY MANIA - RAZOR & CRAZY CANUCK METAL!!

Hails Maniacs!

Ok, before you begin chastising me for using the term Canuck, please know that I am 100% Canadian, born and bred and my use of the word is simply out of endearment for the beautiful country I live in and for the added bonus of stylistic effect. It is time I wrote for Speed Clothes a blog about the fantastic metal from here, where I am, in the Great White North. Who are we trying to kid here, though? With a country as vast as Canada, you might be surprised to know that while it is cold in most areas in the dead of winter (minus Vancouver - those jerks!), the places with the highest population density are really not the icy wastelands you may have imagined. In fact, some places, such as Toronto where I am, tend to get extremely hot and humid in the high summer months. During those times of warmer weather however, is when the maniacs can truly emerge and take over the cities with pure raging madness!

I absolutely love Canadian metal, and I am not the only one. Many people speak highly of metal bands from here. You even have people as influential as Fenriz of Darkthrone praise Canadian metal; he even wrote a song about it he loves it that much. Canadian metal has so much variety that it would be impossible for you not to find something you absolutely fall in love with!

One of my favourite Canadian bands are Razor. I haven’t spoken much about myself since I have been blogging for Speed Clothes, but I must profess to being a huge fan since I discovered thrash metal as a teenager. Razor are absolutely full of energy, have killer riffs, and really speak to my youth. I was extremely happy when, after months of correspondence, Razor agreed to play for my charity event that I organize annually here in Toronto. That was their first performance with their current lineup that have been playing all around the world over the past couple of years. Speed Clothes has released a few Razor items, but alas, as I was writing this the last item sold out! Fret not my wonderful metal heroines, I will try my darndest to influence a full Razor collection in the future! If you haven’t heard Razor, you must listen! If you love thrash and speed metal, or even punk for that matter, you HAVE to listen to Razor. Check out a few of my choice picks below, and then continue on to hear some other Canadian metal that I would highly recommend! I cannot include everything I know and like in here, so maybe we will do a part two sometime!! Hails and enjoy!

RAZOR - TAKE THIS TORCH

RAZOR - THE MARTIAL ARTS

RAZOR - TEAR ME TO PIECES

RAZOR - VIOLENCE CONDONED

...AND NOW FOR SOME OTHER KILLER CANUCK METAL! ARRRRGH!!

VOIVOD - OVERREACTION

PILEDRIVER - SEX WITH SATAN

DEMONTAGE - ENTOURAGE OF DEMONS DANCES

GATEKRASHÖR - BLOOD MONEY

INFERNÄL MÄJESTY - NONE SHALL DEFY

RIOTOR - NIGHTMARE IS MY LIFE

SURVIVAL INSTINCT - ROTTEN

DROID - MATRICIDE (for fans of VOIVOD)

Do you have any favourite Canadian metal bands? Let us know in the comments!!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page